Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-16-2011, 07:46 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Help with Kx and using the flash of camera

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello

I've got a Metz 48 af-1 for Pentax and am trying to get this thing off camera. I'm a newbie at flash photography & I'm DYING to get this thing off and onto a stand.

I'm having trouble with finding the right stuff (and the right information) to fire it. The flash works just fine in the hot shoe on camera. I was working with a local camera store & they fixed me up with a Nikon hot shoe adapter for a sync cord (since the Kx doesn't have a port), the cord and the shoe for the bottom of the flash. This setup WILL NOT fire the flash. The camera store tested the cords - work just find. They were able to get the flash to fire using a Nikon.. but not with my Kx. They told me that it's likely that the Kx will not fire a flash off camera or have to use a Pentax flash. That sounded like bull crap to me and from what I've read in this forum other HAVE been able to use a flash off camera & use ones that are not Pentax.

So my question is what do I need & where can I get it. I love the Kx & don't want to ditch it. I don't even need to TTL functionality. I just want to use the manual mode (to adjust the power) anyways. When I bought the Metz I thought I was buying the right flash. Do I need just a pure manual flash (something like a Vivitar?) and what type of cords/triggers to I need to fire it? I'm not looking for the most expensive option... this a more of a hobby/interest for me.

Suggestions/information/links are MUCH appreciated

07-16-2011, 10:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Do you remember how the Kx was set up at the local camera store?