Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2007, 09:30 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Flash questions for my K100

I have a K100 and would like to add a flash. However, I have never used one before and have some questions:

1. I normally use my camera for family photos.

2. What am I looking for in a flash?

3. Could you suggest some flashes? I dont need a $500 flash. Anything between $100 - $300 would be about right.

4. Do you know anything about the af-500 flash? I have seen this one advertised for $20?!?

5. Does swivel matter? I am assuming most flashes move up and down for bounce, so when the term "swivel" is used, it is referring to the ability to turn left and right.

6. Is recycle time important?

7. What does "54 at iso 100" mean? I know what the "iso 100" part means, but what does the "54" refer to? Also, my camera starts at iso 200, so how does this translate?

8. What does "ttl" and P-ttl" mean? What does it mean specifically in response to the K100?

9. I've seen some forum discussions where people say they can only use their flash in manual or automatic. Does the flash connect to the camera where I cant use automatic focus? Do I only get to use manual focus?

10. Do you know of any websites or articles that discuss different flashes and the terms I have asked about?

11. Would you only recommend Pentax flashes with my K100 or would you suggest any other brands?

Thank you so much.

11-22-2007, 10:53 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wow, lots of questions, but you've probably come to the right place with them...