Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-26-2011, 08:07 PM   #1

K20D + Metz 58AF2 problems/questions

Okay, let me begin by saying I'll probably have a lot of amateurish questions - because well I'm new to this.

I've played with studio lighting before, but that has always been with a PC sync cable triggering them and all. First time owning a flashgun here.

I've also read the manual as much as I can, and haven't been able to solve these problems by myself. So here goes.

1. In "Wireless Slave" and "Servo" mode, if my camera's aperture is set to anything higher than f7.1 (meaning, f8 and higher), it won't trigger.
2. I've yet to figure out how to set it to wireless AND manual. Meaning, have it wireless but so that I can control its output. I believe "Servo" does that, but what about "Wireless Slave?"
3. I know Nikon and Canon have access to stuff like RadioPoppers or PocketWizard, is there a Pentax alternative?

Once again, forgive me if they're silly questions. I took a class in Studio Photography but all that class really used was a PC Sync cable. And this is a whole new ballgame for me.

07-27-2011, 03:40 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi,

1. I can't get this to fail, with the flash set to remote it works for me at f16 even. You haven't accidentally set the shutter speed to greater than 180?

2. You have to control the flash output by setting the flash itself to manual and adjusting the power on the flash itself, I believe the wireless slave mode is limited to P-TTL control

3. You can use a Pocket Wizard on the Pentax & Metz but you are still limited to adjusting the flash to manual or automatic mode, there is no system I know of that wireless sends P-TTL signals to remote flashes in the Pentax universe. Yes, Nikon does allow wireless control of remote flashes including power setting, I don't know about Canon, not owning one.

No such thing as silly questions.