Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2011, 09:21 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Metz 58 AF 2 + K5

I bought a Metz 58 AF 2 yesterday and it works fine. As a flash novice I see I have a learning curve in front of me

Could anyone help with the following about using fill flash in automatic mode? According to the Metz website and I quote:

The intensity of fill-in flash can be varied in increments so that the character of the shadows can be retained in the exposure. For this purpose simply select an automatic aperture on the flash unit that is one f-stop smaller than the aperture set on the camera. If a camera aperture of f/8 was established, then the correct aperture for the flash unit would be 5.6.

Fine but in A mode there are no ways to select an aperture unless you turn the camera off first. So is really the way to vary the intensity of fill flash or should you just use EV comp on the flash instead?

I'm sure I'll have many more questions even though I have RTFM

Thank you in advance.

Graham

09-20-2011, 10:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Disclaimer: I don't have the Metz 58AF-2. What I write in this post is based on my familiarity of other Metz models (see my signature).

What you quoted from Metz's website is for "dumb" auto mode. In "dumb" auto mode, you have to match the ISO and the aperture settings on the flash with those on the camera body.

The more "advanced" Metz flash models (40MZ, 54MZ, 58AF, ...) have what is called "smart" auto mode. If the flash is in auto mode, and the camera body is in one of the auto modes (not M or X), the flash (1) gets and sets the ISO and the aperture settings from the camera body and (2) when sufficiently charged, the flash sets the shutter speed on the camera body. There is no way for the flash to have a different aperture value from the one on the camera.

So you have to (1) use the EV comp. on the flash, AND (not OR) (2) use the camera body in M mode.