Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
11-10-2011, 03:22 PM   #1
Inactive Account

total newbie -1st flash purchase

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

i'm wanting to get my 1st flash
the 2 areas i'd use this would be for portraits and macro with a Raynox DCR 150
i have never used a flash before(except for the inbuilt camera one) and don't really understand the differences between the settings/ttl etc..
any advice on what to get and general flash info would be appreciated
(budget approx £70/$100)
thanks

11-10-2011, 03:29 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Your budget is too small for a p-TTL flash, but just right for a manual flash. You will just have to input your settings into the flash manually instead of letting the camera feed the information to your camera. Look for something like a Yongnuo YN-560. You can add a soft box or diffuser for not much more.
11-10-2011, 04:14 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Veteran Member

In my not-so-humble opinion:

- High-speed sync is waayyy over-rated.

- Wireless flash (controlled optically using camera maker's protocol) is waayyy over-rated. I prefer RF, something inexpensive like the Yongnuo.

If you don't need any of the above, you don't need p-TTL. A flash with auto mode (using the light sensor on the flash) can do the job nicely. In fact, one of the reasons I don't use my Pentax AF540FGZ units (I have 2) very often is that they force p-TTL mode whenever there is a chance. I'd rather use auto mode.

Nice things about auto mode:

- No annoying pre-flash strobe: some people and animals react to the pre-flash strobe. They tend to blink during actual exposure. For this reason, I don't use p-TTL for group photos.