Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-26-2011, 08:44 PM   #1

Need some help with shadows in small room studio.

Hi!
I decided to use a small room as my studio but as a noob I am having issues with shadows.
Currently I am using one of those Construction work two lamp stands.
Basically I am not sure what to use to remove the shadow I am getting to the left side of the subject.
I still need to order a background (probably green and blue screens instead).
I have nothing else but the camera and the lights now as I am not sure what else I need.

This is a picture I took of myself as a test.

Here is the room how it looks right now (pardon the mess):

For that show I used only one of the lamps from the two in the image.
Thanks for your help.

11-26-2011, 09:02 PM - 1 Like   #2

Photos: Gallery
Try having the subject(or yourself) stepping away from the wall for starters. That should help minimize the shadow projecting against the wall. Also try raising the lights higher. Since they are shorter than you, and most likely most of your upcoming subjects, they're shooting the light upwards and projecting the shadow very visibly. Raising them will help with that. And my last suggestion would be to light the wall behind the subject, too. That will wash out the background with light and take out most shadows. Plus it can provide a nice backlight for the subject which helps them pop out from the back drop. Working with construction work lights can be very difficult, but I think if you play around with my 3 suggestions you may be able to find something that works for your "studio." Good luck!
11-26-2011, 09:08 PM   #3

Original Poster
First thanks for the quick reply!
Second, I got a much smaller single light but it is only 250W compared to the 500W on the tripod. I tried it but it seems not to be powerful enough to do the job.
You think I should get a 500 instead?