Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-04-2011, 07:33 AM   #1

Sigma 530 DG super problem?

Hi,i have this flash and i've been using it for about a year and i have a question to ask. I use this flash with my K20D.I always use aperture mode when using this flash.The problem is that the photos taken using this flash is underexposed (its dark,it seems like the flash is not powerful enough), even if i increase the exposure to +1.0.btw,the flash is in TTL mode. can i use aperture mode and use Manual mode for the flash?because when i change it to Manual mode (even sometimes it is quite difficult to press the button to change it to manual mode), it will go back to TTL when i half press the shutter. Is that normal or not?

Im a bit new to this flash technique,so please help me. Thanks a lot people

12-04-2011, 10:03 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Please post a sample with exif intact. Specifically interested in aperture and ISO.

You know the basics of flash (just asking, no offense intended)? The distance that you can flash is determined by guide number and aperture; see your flash manual or camera manual. Your flash has an (inflated) guide number (GN) of 53 (at max zoom) at ISO 100. If you use an aperture of f/16, the reach is 53/16 is about 3.5 meters. If your subject is further away, it will be underexposed. At wide angle, the GN will be lower (28 at widest zoom position) and therefor the reach will be even less (about 1.5 meters).

Adding 1Ev will not help if the flash is already using full power (it can't produce more than full power). Increasing the ISO will help; for each step in ISO, you can multiply the GN by 1.4; so iso100 -> 400 will result in a GN of 106.
12-04-2011, 10:16 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by sterretje Quote
for each step in ISO, you can multiply the GN by 1.4;