Photos: Albums
Which Flash suits my needs best?

Hi!

For a long time I'm planning to buy a nice kit:
  1. K5 body +17-55 WR kit lens
  2. Tammy 28-75 f2.8
  3. DA 55-300mm
  4. Already have 50mm/f1.7 + 28mm/f2.8
At the moment I'm deciding which flash to buy but I found it hard to compare different models to my needs. I searched on different websites including The Definitive Guide - Pentax P-TTL Flash Comparison .

Some relevant information:

1. I'm new with flashes.
  2. It should work well with the K5 of course.
  3. I want to start with just one flash mainly used for portrait and candid.
  4. I would like to use it wireless, with and without a softbox.
  5. After some time I want to buy a second flash that can work with the one I will buy in the first place.
  6. It must be able to bounce of at ceilings and walls
  7. pTTL (or something like that) would be very welcome.
  8. Question: Most flashes can only work as a slave, is a master necessary or can I use my build-in flash for that?
EDIT: Budget is around 300 dollars at max. Prefer lower though

I hope you guys can help me out with this one!

Many thanks!

Tom

Last edited by Tomm; 12-07-2011 at 07:07 AM.
12-07-2011, 09:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Spend a bit more, get a Pentax AF540FGZ or a Metz 58AF-2 and don't look back.

I prefer the build of the Metz, but the Pentax's user interface is more user-friendly.

If $300 is the absolute max, get a used copy (Metz 58AF-2 is fairly new, used copies may be difficult to come by).
12-07-2011, 09:22 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SOldBear Quote
Spend a bit more, get a Pentax AF540FGZ or a Metz 58AF-2 and don't look back.

I prefer the build of the Metz, but the Pentax's user interface is more user-friendly.

If $300 is the absolute max, get a used copy (Metz 58AF-2 is fairly new, used copies may be difficult to come by).
Thanks for your reply! Do I really need these top segment flashes for my intended purposes?