Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-19-2011, 08:18 PM   #1
Forum Member

advise needed: dual flash setup for macro

hi all,

i've googled, hunted and searched all over the internet for ideas on this subject but have not had much luck finding useful info so appreciate if more experienced pentaxians can offer their views on this subject.

i've been experimenting with different lighting approaches for macro for many months now and have tried:

- pop-up flash with diffuser: too harsh, not enough power to light-up subjects when shooting with a longer macro lens

- metz 48 triggered from the hotshoe with a softbox: too heavy, uneven lighting across the whole frame (esp the bottom)

- metz 48 triggered off the hotshoe with the pop-up flash: pop-up flash contributes to exposure leading to hot-spots

- pentax AF160 ring-flash: everything to complain about a ring flash - harsh, ugly catchlight off reflective surface, flat lighting

- LED lights: not bright enough to allow lens to be stepped down

so in a nutshell, after a lot of time (and $$$) spent, none of them really gives me what i want...

my standard setup now is the AF160 ring-flash, which despite its flaws, is a relatively compact setup that allows me to do the most important thing: close-in and get the shot quickly. but i'm stifled by its limitations and feel that it gives me a very one-dimensional, clinical look.

i'm now considering a dual flash setup, to be triggered wirelessly by radio triggers. pttl is not that important to me (since pttl radio triggers don't exist anyway), but i do need a pair of reliable slave flash that gives consistent, preferably adjustable output.