Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2011, 09:16 AM   #1

Off-camera cord question

Hi Pentax community,

this Christmas, I received a flash (Vivitar DF-283-PEN) for my Pentax K20D. I am new to flashes and trying to understand the TTL and the P-TTL differences. I also received a JYC Universal TTL Off Camera Shoe Cord.

1- When I have my flash on my camera (directly), in Av mode, the shutter speed is automatically setup depending on my zoom (ranges between 1/60 to 1/125), which I presumes is the P-TTL function.

2- But when connected to the JYC off-camera cord, the Av mode does not receive feedback from the flash, the shutter speed will be as if the flash was not connected/detected. But the flash will trigger when taking a picture, which means the signal is being sent to the flash (TTL-function).

Questions:

a) Is understanding of P-TTL and TTL correct as above ?
b) How can I know if in condition #2, my flash is outputting always maximum or the camera is controlling the output level ?

Thank you for your help

12-29-2011, 09:38 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
you have a pentax dedicated flash, but a universal cord.

so, the cord cannot give all the data needed for the flash to work in p-ttl.

the k20d does not have ttl, just p-ttl.

so, the cord is only sending a trigger signal and the flash will only work in whatever mode you have it set.

you need to spend a bit more to buy a dedicated pentax flash cord, then the flash will work with all functionality.

i bought one of the cheap ones from ebay and it works fine.
12-29-2011, 08:18 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter