Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-30-2011, 06:15 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Bought my flash before I really understood how.

Hi all,

I know I needed a flash for my K-5 to take good family shots so I went out and bought one. I bought a Metz 50-AF-1 and it looks great on the camera. But I need to make it work great too. Being a self taught novice can some one give me some advice on a good flash tutorial book. Thanks to "You Tube" I understand there is different relationships between apeture/ ISO/ Shutter speed when using flash. The first photos I took with my new flash weren't much different to the in camera flash (Blown out subjects at the front and under-exposed background). I had a look on www.bookdepository.com.uk but I'm not sure which book will start at the basic principles and lead to more advanced techniques.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

12-30-2011, 06:24 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I don't have a book recomendation for you but have you tried bouncing the flash off the ceiling? Turn the flash head straight up and pull out the bounce card. If you have problems with the P-TTL set the Metz on "A" mode. That way it meters the scene. I my experience with the 58 and a K5 that works wonders to produce an evenly lit scene.
12-30-2011, 07:55 AM   #3
Site Supporter

(1) Use manual mode. Don't be afraid of manual mode. Try manual mode. Really.

--> my method is as follows:
(2) Set shutter speed to something fast enough to catch your subject, for example 1/100. Set aperture to something reasonable you want to use. Set ISO to something appropriate to bring the exposure up a little so that the subject isn't too much brighter than the surroundings, but also low enough to maintain the image quality you need.

(3) Point the flash at the wall or ceiling. P-TTL will set the flash output.

Flash takes a little bit more setup effort, but once you are there you can shoot away for your entire session.