Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2012, 11:42 AM   #1

Indoor Studio flash setup K-5

First time posting...

I have a K-5 and I'm interested in doing some studio indoor photography.

Are all of the components in this recommended set-up compatible with the K-5? Do I need anything else to make this work? I'm just learning about studio lighting and I'm assuming this set-up triggers all of the flashes when the shutter is pressed? i.e. strobe, not continous? Also, what about directions for setting all of this up? Thanks for your help!

ePhoto lighting kit with two light stands, two brackets, 2 shoot-through umbrellas, 2 silver umbrellas, and a carrying case

Two YN560 flashes (So you can use one as a main light and one to fill in shadows. Also handy for lighting groups)

NPT-04 Cowboy Studio Wireless Flash Trigger (two receivers since you’ll have two flashes with this set-up)

24″ Softbox (I am a big fan of this softbox.

Two ePhoto 40″ Shoot-Through Umbrellas (The larger the umbrella, the softer the light)

reflector

01-05-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Well, yes all of that is 'compatible' if you mean it can work with the k-5. Everything you have listed is 'generic' or perhaps 'brand agnostic' is better. It is all manual and should work with any DSLR within the restrictions of the equipment.

As far as setting it all up; that can be a life time of study. Asking for simple directions to an exceedingly complex undertaking usually results in less than optimal results.

I would suggest you go to this website: Strobist Lighting 101 and work your way through the lessons. It is at least a good start and you can then determine what else you need to learn.