Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-19-2012, 07:44 AM   #1

YN 560II or Vivtar 283

I would like to purchase a flash - I am pretty new to flash photography, but I finally want to get into trying some portraits and things like that. I am looking to spend under $100 and these 2 seem to be highly recommended.

Which would be the best option? Thanks!

03-19-2012, 07:46 AM   #2

Original Poster
edit: to clarify - just looking for something to use on the camera for now. not wireless or anything.
03-19-2012, 08:27 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I have a hard time recommending either of them for "on camera" flash but I just got 2 of the YN-560ii flashes and they are great. No experience with the vivitar. With the addition of some cheap cactus v5 triggers, you can open up a whole new world of "off camera flash" photography.
03-19-2012, 08:35 AM   #4

Jennverr,
Both of those flashes are rather large, no HSS capability, & no P-TTL. If you want an on-camera flash I might recommend the the Metz 50. It is a little smaller and gives HSS and P-TTL. From a purely off camera perspective I would agree with enoeske, you really can't beat a pair of YN560's and some cactus v5s.

03-19-2012, 09:22 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If you have knowledge of flash photography, use manual flash on camera is not a big problem.
if you have to rely purely on auto, then you have to buy pttl flash, and then it cost at least 150-200 I think.
or you can buy cheap auto flash (there is sensor build in flash), it can still do the job fine.
03-19-2012, 09:32 AM   #6

Original Poster
okay what kind of flash can i use where i can still manually set my aperture? or if getting an auto flash, does that mean setting the camera to auto as well?
03-19-2012, 11:26 AM   #7

Original Poster