Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2012, 11:22 PM   #1

Flash Buying Guide?

Hi PF,

I'm a beginner and I'm looking into getting a flash!
After reading lots of reviews online and the PF Flash Reviews (in which, sadly, each flash has average of one review only), I am all the more confused..

If anyone could give a little help, it'd be really appreciated.

Background..
I am a casual photographer and mostly shoot from my kit lens and DAL 55-300mm with my K-X
I'm looking for a flash preferably under $150 but, if there's a really compelling reason, I could go for ~$200.
I think the only thing I know is I'd like it to tilt (and maybe swivel) and have a bounce-card thing (the white card you can pull up behind it)[/HR]

What I am not sure about is....

Auto mode: what is this, do I want it? If the flash is manual, does that mean I can't just put it on my hot-shoe and it'll work?
(p-)TTL: through-the-lens metering??
Power adjustment: a lot of flashes have complicated power control, is that important?
Brand: there are a few cheap, non-named-brand flashes (e.g. Yongnuo), that seem tempting. What are people's opinions this?[/HR]

Any help or even recommendations would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Last edited by jasonch; 04-10-2012 at 11:31 PM. Reason: Including that I have a K-X
04-10-2012, 11:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

There is a P-TTL guide, it has all/most of the current flashes in it, google for P-TTL guide and you will find it.

For the rest i can't say anything more because you didn't say which camera you have
04-10-2012, 11:31 PM   #3

Original Poster
Ahh, I have a K-X! Thanks!
04-11-2012, 02:37 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Yeah you need P-TTL for that not TTL, P stands for Pre i believe, anyway it gives off a small pre flash before the actual exposure for the metering.
You can use Auto and Manual mode as well but not TTL