Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-24-2012, 07:46 PM   #1

Cup Shape Diffuser Review

--------------------------------------------------------------------Review Part------------------------------------------------------------
Finally got the item, took nearly 3 weeks for it to arrive.
I guess it's reasonable since it is shipping from China.

This is the one I got, great price and the company seems big and reliable.
Nanguan Lambency Flash Diffuser P4 for Canon 580EXII 580EX 550EX - DinoDirect.com

Here starts the review, all shots are direct out of camera.
K5 / pentax-F 35-70mm / yongnuo 560 ii
Jpg format, only resized to 800px width.
All neutral effect - 0 contrast, saturation, sharpness, etc.
Fixed white balance - day light WB.
Flash is about 1.5 meter away from the scene.

Please excuse the slight changing of exposure of each photo, I am still new to flash :/

This is the product.
The cup itself looks a little blue-greenish.
Also comes with a white cap and an orange cap.
It even comes with some extra stuff like post cards and a bottle opener, not bad

Here is the set up scene.
The shot is taken w/o flash, only window light, and a longer exposure.

Here is a shot of the flash working.
It is pointed to the ceiling.
As you can see, it shots a bean of light directly up, the scene hardly gets any light.

Here is the flash with the cup mounted on.
The scene gets some light from the diffuser.
But most of the light are still shooting up the ceiling.

Here is the flash with the cup, and the white cap mounted on.
The light is now much more diffused.
The scene is getting more light and the diffuser itself looks & acts like a light bulb.

On-camera flash directly shooting the scene.
As everyone expected, harsh shadow, artificial looking.
The WB also looks a bit on the cold side.

On-camera flash with the cup directly shooting the scene.