Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2008, 09:10 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Please help with flash

Hey I am pretty new to all this and I just got my 540 flash last night to put on my k100d super. I am reading both the manuals but can't figure it out. Can someone tell me do I still want to get my readings to a 0.0 when using the flash? Like I will put it on 125 and f4 and it says like -3.0 but when I shoot it, it doesn't look that underexposed. If anyone could help I would really appreciate it. Oh and I am using the flash in Pttl mode cause I was told that would be the simplest since I don't know much about flashes.
Thanks so much
Nichole

01-19-2008, 12:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Nichole:

The simplest thing to do until you become more familiar with your camera and flash is to set your camera in the Program mode when using the flash. That way you don't have to figure anything out, it's all done automatically for you.

CN
01-19-2008, 12:08 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by nicholek Quote
Hey I am pretty new to all this and I just got my 540 flash last night to put on my k100d super. I am reading both the manuals but can't figure it out. Can someone tell me do I still want to get my readings to a 0.0 when using the flash? Like I will put it on 125 and f4 and it says like -3.0 but when I shoot it, it doesn't look that underexposed. If anyone could help I would really appreciate it. Oh and I am using the flash in Pttl mode cause I was told that would be the simplest since I don't know much about flashes.
Thanks so much
Nichole
what your camera is showing is the number of stops under exposed the frame would be without flash.