Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-22-2012, 01:00 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Help. Metz AF50/K5

Back in the dark ages I was ok with flash on my MX's. Guide Numbers, even on occasions battery packs hanging from my shoulder, small Nissin and Sunpack units, etc. But as for flash on dslr. Not a clue.

I've had my K5 (first dslr) for just about a year and except for some initial messing around with the pop-up unit I haven't had the need or inclination. However a couple of months ago I had a bit of spare cash and bought a Metz AF50, which seemed to have some decent reviews.

Is there somewhere where a complete novice/idiot can get some basic info on what, why, where and how digital flash and slrs (K5) do? The Metz handbook is not easy to follow. Particularly as I don't fully understand what is the difference between M, TTL, P-TTL, P-TTLHSS and so on actually is or does.

The K5 manual isn't the most explanatory book I've ever read. Looking up some topics I begin to loose the will to live. For instance why on the X setting, does the EV bar keep flashing -5 ?

As I said. I'm a complete idiot when it comes to digital flash.............Anyone got any bulbs?

07-22-2012, 05:12 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Regarding the X issue- the camera is saying that it thinks the photo will be underexposed if you shoot with the current settings.

As far as modes go:
M is for manual, where the flash fires at the configured power setting and you have to manually ensure that the iso, shutter speed, and aperture are correct.

TTL is where the camera uses its own sensor once the correct exposure is reached. Only the istD and DS/DS2 have this sensor.