Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2012, 04:32 AM   #1

Budget Macro Lighting

Hi Guys,

I'm just getting into the Arena of Macro photography and have recently got hold of an SMC Pentax-M 100mm macro lens and some extension tubes. I am enjoying playing around with them so far. I'm looking to do a little photo series on everyday objects close up and wondering what do to about lighting. I want to get a ring flash really but for now I just want something cheap.

I'm thinking about maybe a small light tent off ebay and then use some household lamps to light up the object in question.

What do you think?

Cheers

Alex

08-30-2012, 04:44 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are small foldable macro light tents on ebay that come with weird tabletop "tripod" and 2 lamps for cheap. They're not bad for the money. There are several threads here on inexpensive macro flashes $40-75. One thing to be aware of is that many cheap macro flashes aren't actually flashes but are continuious LED lamps.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-flashes-lighting-technique/196031-led-ring-flash.html
08-30-2012, 05:12 AM   #3
Banned

Photos: Albums
Well it would all depend on what ones budget might be. And as Docrwm mentioned it would also depend if one would really need and/or want a flash versus something such as continious lighting.

For continious lighting I've stumbled upon something a bit out of the ordinary that works perfectly. Snap-On (which is NOT known for budget conscious people) has a type of angled light - the Snap-On CTFL918. The iterm number, and the F portion of the model number, and even just looking at the item - all show that it is a florescent item -and that perhaps the camera setting might need to be adjusted to compensate. But for some strange reason - all of mt non medium format cameras seem to adjust to it - perfectly - almost as if it were a daylight source.