Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2012, 09:02 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
LED light for still photography?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm looking to do my first engagement shoot. I was hoping to experiment with LED lighting doing some nice romantic portraits in pretty dark environments.

I've never worked with LED lights before, so I was planning to get something cheap like this one.

I can't really gauge things like how powerful these lights are, and how long the battery would last for, and whether or not they are any good in general.

What are your thoughts? What kind of things should I be aware of when using these lights? Thanks in advance

10-25-2012, 09:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I have four similar led lights, but I use mine for still life subjects and fill light with wildflower photography. I find them really useful when you don't want to kill a photo with a flash and really sharp detail isn't an issue. They don't throw light a long way at all, but I love the quality of the light of mine.

I have not used mine for people photography as I have a range of preferred setups. I think it is worth a try as you could get some really romantic photos. I use my LED light for wildflowers on a flash bracket. I think it might be worth a try or you could even get someone to hand hold it for you.

let us know how you go, I am interested in what you come up with.
10-25-2012, 09:41 PM   #3
iht
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for your comment Bob. I'll see what I can do.

It doesn't look like the light can be tilted though once it's on a stand. Does that mean it has to be hand held if I want proper directional lighting?
10-25-2012, 09:55 PM   #4
Veteran Member