Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2008, 08:43 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Slightly older flashes are CHEAP!

Ok, so I just made a new thread in this folder about the advantages of an af360fgz flash, and if it would work with my *ist DL.

I have now forgotten that idea, as I am still a starving student with only a summer job as a source of income. And I already got a $100 set of tripod legs today.

So I was just looking at some videos on youtube from bertstephani called Confessions of a Photographer (no, it's not as cheesy as it sounds) but they're actually really inspiring and it makes you want the equipment he owns!

I started paging through my KEH magazine and found slightly older (330fgz, 500fgz, 400fgz, 280t, etc etc) flashes for like $70!

So I ask you, O hallowed smart Pentaxians, will the TTL function on those flashes (more notably the 330fgz, 500fgz, and 280t) work with my *ist DL? A long time ago, before the new 200fgz came out, I heard that some functions from those older flashes would not work with my *ist DL. Is this the P-TTL that will not work, or is it TTL that will not work on my *ist DL? Also, do you reccomend those 3 flashes? Will I have to use a Wein Safe Sync with the 280t?

THANK YOU for those of you who will reply! I appreciate it! This website is probably my #1 source for learning about my camera and all that jazz

02-26-2008, 01:19 AM   #2

You'll need a P-TTL flash to make use of the flash functions of your DL. TTL does not work with any of the Pentax DSLRs except the *ist D.
02-26-2008, 05:00 AM   #3