Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2013, 12:45 PM   #1

Westcott Apollo 28" softbox vs Ezybox clones

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hey all.

I'm looking to buy a softbox. I'm new to off-camera lighting. Right now, Henrys has the Westcott Apollo 28" softbox kit with stand on sale for $150. Okay, this isn't super cheap, but it's still fairly reasonably priced. I've also been looking at the Lastolite Ezybox, which is more than I'm willing to spend. Fortunately, there are a number of knock-offs on ebay for around 50 bucks (most shipping out from China/Hong Kong).

I was initailly leaning towards the Apollo, but I've read that it's difficult to tilt downward. Plus, I would have to open up the softbox everytime I need to change flash settings. The Ezybox clones, on the other hand, are really compact when collapsed, since it uses a wire frame design.

Anybody have any experience with the Ezybox clones? I'm wondering how they compare to the Apollos, which seem to be quite popular.

Thanks!

04-02-2013, 01:33 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
if you're new to off camera lighting, why not save yourself a whole ton of cash and just use an umbrella?

If you're dead set on a softbox, here are my thoughts on the ones you've mentioned:
Apollo: really nifty, well designed and easy to use, good light
Ezybox: Also quite nifty, Somewhat more punchy light than the apollo due to smaller size. I prefer the mounting method of the Apollo over the ezybox
Ezybox knockoffs: cheap, it'll get the job done although don't expect it to take a beating or be as hassle free as the other two
04-02-2013, 11:42 PM   #3

Original Poster