Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2013, 06:58 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Off camera Flash lighting and Image

Guys,

I am just getting started on the off camera flash lighting. I have an umbrella from the cowboy studio and a light stand and some wireless triggers.

I was trying to get some shots yesterday, and noticed that the pentax AF 360 does not trigger all the time. I had my shutter speed at 1/160 (Sync Speed) and less, however it does not trigger all the time.

Also when the flash triggers, on some of the images, i see that half of the image is Black. any Ideas why this is happening?

I will post some pics this evening to show what i mean half of the image is black.

Thanks,
Suresh

04-04-2013, 07:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Tigger voltage of the wireless trigger most likely.
Which triggers are you using?
04-04-2013, 07:33 AM   #3
Pentaxian

The battery in the wireless flash trigger may need replacing.
04-04-2013, 08:05 AM   #4
Veteran Member

What are the "some wireless triggers"?

Are they optical? RF? How do you set them up?

What camera? Lens?

If you want meaningful replies, provide more details.

04-04-2013, 10:03 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Sorry folks,

here are more details :

I have the cowboy studio RF triggers. The cameras that I have are the K20D and K30 and this happens with any lens.

For the flash to trigger, sometimes I have to turn off the flash and sometimes I have to turn off the camera and turn it back on..

Thanks,
Suresh
04-04-2013, 10:27 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Maybe the flash simply has not finished recharging? Check iits batteries and check the trigger's batteries. Also make sure you're in M mode on the camera and that the flash is also in M mode.
04-04-2013, 01:28 PM   #7
Veteran Member

Problem with the Cactus v2 was that the trigger voltage was to low of the flash so the circuit did not work like it should inside the trigger.