Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2006, 02:43 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Flashes

After long consideration I decided to buy an external flash for my DS. My problem is that I don't know which one to buy. The Pentax AF-500 is out of question (to expensive), so my choices would be the Pentax AF-360, the Sakar Digital Concepts 952AF (http://www.beachcamera.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=SAK925AFP) or the Vivitar 6000AF. The problem is that I have no knowledge about flashes in general, so you see my problem.
The thing is that, probably, I wont use it too often, maybe for some macro shots or indoors, so I don't want to spend to much on a flash.
Any suggestions and help is appreciated.

Robert.

09-23-2006, 03:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

A good source of info on flashes: http://www.jensroesner.de/

Maybe you've already run across this brand and decided against it: I have a Promaster flash, which was quite reasonable - about half what a similar Pentax flash would cost, if I recall correctly. My main reason for getting it doesn't apply to your situation, though, I don't think - the DS does TTL flash, right? The DL doesn't, and I was able to get around that for my manual lenses with this flash, while still being able to use it as a P-TTL flash.

Jens' site has lots of basic info on flashes, diy diffusers and whatnot. Well worth a visit, it was very helpful when I decided I needed a flash. Good luck choosing!

Julie
09-26-2006, 01:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Take a look at the Sigma EF500DG Super. It is about the same price as the Af360.
09-26-2006, 06:19 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Same here on the Sigma Super.I am worried it will be usless with the K10

09-26-2006, 07:31 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Sigma EF500 DG Super here too...
09-27-2006, 01:57 AM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by vievetrick Quote
I am worried it will be usless with the K10