Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2013, 06:00 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
PTTL versus A on Metz 58 - very different results

Hello

I'm trying to learn about flash and have been practising with a stuffed toy with my Metz 58-AF1 flash mounted on my K-r. Pentax A-50mm lens set to F5.6 and I'm around 1.5m from subject. I am trying to figure out real world difference between A mode and PTTL mode on flash.

I took a bunch of shots with the flash on A mode and got consistent results every time. I then tried on PTTL and probably 1 in 3 shots is massively over exposed. Therefore TTL seems to be pretty unreliable/inconsistent compared to A mode.

I'm very new to this so does anyone have any info on whether there are certain scenarios where you would use one mode over the other? Or is A always more reliable?

Thanks.

08-30-2013, 07:11 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I find Pttl is ok with popup flash only. With metz AF 58-2 result can be whatever. I use M mostly, at least iget what i want.
08-30-2013, 07:13 AM   #3
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by thechumpen Quote
Or is A always more reliable?
Yes. Many threads on this topic already. P-TTL can work for some situations but the pre-flash used for metering can be easily fooled.
08-30-2013, 10:40 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter