Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2008, 05:33 PM   #1

Looking for a flash.. which one?

Hello

I'm pretty new to the world of slr's. I bought a k10d and love taking pictures with it. My next purchase is gonna be a flash, I just don't know what I need. I am looking for a good multi-purpose flash that is easy to learn on and not intimidating. Something that can go full auto and take a GOOD picture or can be set with some knowledge and take a GREAT picture.
Thanx

03-26-2008, 06:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Lotsa discussion about this. Check out this thread in the knowledge base section where I've collected the available P-TTL (that is, camera-controlled automatic) options.

In the current version there I simply list them by their stated flash power with a 50mm (35mm-frame) field of view (which is ~35mm on our K10Ds.) There's other important distinguishing features too.

One feature I'd rate as a must-have is wireless optical flash control, which means either the Pentax-brand flashes or the Metz ones or the Super version of the Sigma.

I had the Sigma, but ultimately returned it due to several shortcomings, the most insurmountable being that it was falsely triggered off-camera by the K10D's focus-assist strobe. So I got the Metz 48 AF-1 instead, and am pretty happy with it. I chose that over the Pentax AF360FGZ because it has a tilt and swivel head (instead of just tilt), which is essential for bounce flash in portrait orientation on-camera. (It's also built more solidly and has a nicer design than the Sigma. The built-in bounce card is nifty, for example.)
03-27-2008, 06:15 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the help
03-28-2008, 12:11 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Does it work with K100D?

I am also thinking to get a flash for my K100D.
Sorry, I don't mean to hijack the thread, but I just want to know if the wireless function of those flashes (Pentax/Metz//Sigma) will work with K100D?