Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2013, 10:58 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Tech-challenged photographer seeks flash

Hi everyone - I recently switched over to Pentax and I'm planning to buy a flash unit to work my camera (K-3) and my husband's camera (K-30). I'm relatively new to photography and of the projects on my to-do list is to get better at using supplementary lighting (including flash) effectively. I've had some basic lessons focusing on on-camera flash, and I'm taking two courses in the next couple of months that will focus on some more advanced techniques with on- and off-camera flash (e.g., studio lighting). To date, my photography interests have been mostly about people (portraits and street photography), animals (mostly pet photography but also wildlife) and a bit of macro - not so interested in landscape, architecture, food, etc.

I've had a look at the materials in this forum on Pentax and 3rd-party flash units but I'm still uncertain as to what I should buy. I know that I want a flash unit that tilts and swivels and that can be used off-camera. Weather-resistance is a nice-to-have but not essential. I'm not even sure what other features I want, except that I want the flexibility to experiment with lighting arrangements. (And I know I should go read up on the subject on Strobist ...)

The other factor I would like to keep in mind is that I'm not naturally adept at picking up new technologies, and I'm definitely not the kind of person who is willing (or particularly adept at) figuring out work-arounds to resolve tech problems. (My husband is significantly better at this but is less into photography than I am.) So, all else being equal, if one flash system requires more work-arounds to maximize my options than another, I'd prefer the easier-to-use system.