Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-27-2013, 03:26 AM   #1
Forum Member

Flash recommendation for K-30

Hey fellas,

I'm new to flash photography. I have a K-30, and now I use an old Metz 32CT3 on camera. I'd like to use a newer and better one, though this flash head can tilt and swivel.

So basically, I am considering two solutions (with a tight budget on it)

a) Yongnuo 560 III + a 602 or 603 transmitter
b) Metz 44 AF-1 (and the necessary transmitter+receiver)

what would you suggest? Primary goals are to use the flash off-camera, and portrait photography. I am open to other solutions.

Cheers

Szabolcs

11-27-2013, 03:55 AM   #2

Hi szmatefy

I bought the Yongnuo 460 II for the same usage you are looking for. So far it worked well although something seems to be loose inside...
The 560 III is on my wishlist too. Yongnuo is going to produce a remote control unit for the in-built receiver so you can change the power level remotely. But there is no date given for it.

A simple wireless trigger is not a must. The Yongnuos can automatically fire when you fire your on camera/integrated flash. If you dont want your integrated flash to affect the picture, just set it to -2 EV.
No experience with the Metz 44. I have a Metz 30BCT4 that I trigger remotely. It would fry my camera if used on camera...
11-27-2013, 08:23 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks,

I'm considering a Metzz 44AF-1 which is more expensive than a Yongnuo, but support p-TTL, and that might come handy. However, I've read good things about Yongnuo, but I was unable to find a radio transmitter compatible with Pentax...Yongnuo is about half price than the Metz...
11-27-2013, 09:12 AM   #4

While shopping for my K-30 I was faced with same question. Here is my experience.

I shoot outside under sun (bike racing) so was looking for high speed sync (and PTTL of course) as a requirement.