Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
02-05-2014, 12:16 AM   #1

Anyone using the Godox V850?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm new to lighting equipment and would like a couple of speedlights with remote triggers as well as a couple of light stands and probably some modifiers. I found these Godox flashes online and read a good review about them. Does anyone have experience with these or can someone recommend another product? Thanks!

Godox Ving V850 Wireless Starter Kit with ft 16S Remote Power Control | eBay

02-05-2014, 06:30 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I have not used them, but they are well regarded. Their main perk is that they use Li-Ion batteries, meaning very fast recharges and loooooong battery life. On the other hand, they loose the simplicity associated with simply popping AAs when your battery dies.

Their remote system is also fine, and is an interesting patch on wireless TTL. Everything is manual, but everything can be controlled by the remote, meaning that you don't have to walk towards each flash to adjust something. The reverse is again the downside of proprietary : it wonly works with their flashes.

I'm personally a fan of simply getting cheap radio triggers and doing everything the hard way, but if I was srating from scratch, I would strongly consider these products.
02-05-2014, 09:52 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bdery Quote
I have not used them, but they are well regarded. Their main perk is that they use Li-Ion batteries, meaning very fast recharges and loooooong battery life. On the other hand, they loose the simplicity associated with simply popping AAs when your battery dies.