Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-08-2014, 10:13 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Outdoor wedding - recommend fill flash

I will be taking pictures at my niece's wedding in April - as an uncle and not a pro. It is to be held outdoors and I have an older Pentax AF280T flash. From my reading a fill flash is very helpful. My photography has mainly been landscape and wildlife, so I have very little experience using flash. I often have difficulty in the AF280T working with my camera correctly. I am using the K100d, and seem to have to go manual to make it work consistently. I can do that, but not efficiently on the fly at an event. Is there an economical flash that would communicate better with the camera to use as a fill flash for outdoor portraits/weddings?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

03-08-2014, 12:19 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Do you want to use the flash on-camera?

If so, you need to be very careful with the power level otherwise you'll quickly get unflattering images.

I would encourage you to look into using a light modifier. Don't waste your money on Fong plastic, though, this stuff only works indoors (sometimes). Try to get a softbox or a wing light. Even better is off-camera flash, but that is not easy to pull off when you are on your own.

Have you tried the "Auto" modes on the AF280T?
These can work surprisingly well.

Your options are
  1. Manual flash: You'll have to control the flash power on the flash. Never as quick as an automated approach but has its advantages (consistency) when you dialed in the correct amount.
  2. Auto-flash: The flash determines whether the subject has received enough light. I don't have a lot of experience with this approach and you'll have to see how it works for you.
  3. P-TTL: The camera issues a pre-flash and through metering then determines what the flash power should be. You can influence the result with a flash exposure compensation value.