Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-09-2014, 02:27 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Light for low key nude photography

Hello,

Kind of an urgent situation here, I have to quickly improvise something for a photo session. Target is very ambitious, low key nude photography. Unfortunately I only have access to some local store, and limited budget. I have no practical experience with this kind of photography, but I've done some reading and it seems I can get away with only one light source. Question is, which one? here are my choices considering I'm on a budget and I want continous lighting and not a flash:

Option 1: Hakutatz VL-9099
  • 9 x 45W = 405W
  • softbox 80x60cm
  • construction seems to be very poor from the reviews
Option 2: Fancier FANK-QL500D
  • 500W
  • 3200K - isn't it a little too cold ? but do I really need something between 5500-6000K considering that probably I'm gonna turn it B&W at PP anyway?
  • 60 x 90cm - a little bigger softbox, and it says "double diffusion", i don't know what that is
  • this one seems to have active cooling and variable power
  • more expensive than Options 1, 2
  • don't know if I really need 500W
Option 3: Hakutatz - 2x85w FB-85 + softbox + fasung
  • it's the second kit listed on the product page, the one with the 80cm octobox
  • 80cm octobox with good reviews
  • CRI 90 - seems good
  • 5500K - seems good
  • 2x85W = 170W - is it enough power ?

I provided link to product's page, unfortunately not in English, but I guess technical specs will make sense. So far I tend to go with either option 3 or option 2. I don't know if 170W is enough power, I've read about how to place the light for low key photography but I don't have any idea how powerful it needs to be. Any advices? As I said, i don't think i have time to research other options, model will only be available for one day only, so I don't have time to order from other stores.

Thank you!