Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-25-2014, 05:19 PM   #1

Standard Flash

Hi,

I am new to the DSLR space, but used a Konica T3 film camera for years with a Vivitar 283 external flash. Do I need to buy a flash that is Pentax specific or can I buy the Vivitar equivalent ? If so, can you provide some product names?

Thanks

06-25-2014, 05:32 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In order to work in P-TTL mode you need to buy a Pentax specific flash. Models from Pentax of course and Metz makes ones that work as well as some others I cannot remember right off.

Non-brand specific flashes will usually work but in manual mode only.

Older flashes from the film era MAY work, but be cautious as some have trigger voltages that far exceed the safe operating parameters of DSLRs. You can fry your camera with some of them. You can check to see if your flash is listed here: Photo Strobe Trigger Voltages or test with a volt meter.

If you are OK with all manual flash note that there are several brands available (Cactus and Yongnuo come to mind) that have more features than your older flash, are probably more powerful and are very inexpensive.
06-25-2014, 05:42 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks, I was warned about the older flashes. I see that the makers have gone more proprietary, so I guess I would rather buy Pentax. I had hoped it would be more generic like in the old days <G>
06-25-2014, 05:56 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

I'm not sure if you're planning to get a K-3, but if you are, when you bundle a Pentax AF 540 flash you can get it for just $100 (regular price for the flash is $426, the camera is $1196):
Pentax K-3 DSLR Camera Body with Flash and Battery Grip Kit B&H

This is a really hot deal right now.