Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2014, 02:27 AM   #1

need studio set-up for Saturday for a "detective story" dinner

Hello everyone,

On Saturday I have 8 friends coming over for a "detective story" dinner, so everyone will be in a costume. I would not want to miss that opportunity to take many photos including group and portraits shots

Since I have no experience whatsoever regarding studio photography I would appreciate your suggestions regarding what kind of gear I need exactly for sufficient lighting. Amazon links would be great. I am afraid for Adorama or B&H orders it is too late (I live in Germany). My budget lies somwhere around 300 EUR.

What I have:
Pentax K3, a camera tripod and Metz Mecablitz 58 AF2.

Thank you very much!!!

11-19-2014, 03:28 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

You could do just fine with your Metz 58 AF-2.

Just make sure you use the wall or ceiling bounce technique to get much better light.

The link above links to part of a description that references a site describing the "Black Foamie Thing". Costs next to nothing but is one of the most effective "light modifiers" you can get for your portable flash.
11-19-2014, 03:46 AM   #3

Original Poster
thank you very much can you perhaps estimate if the light of the flash will be enough for group shots?
I will go to DIY store today after the work and look for black foamie thing ))

I was in NZ in August So beautiful! And in Wellington I was several times in a row in Embassy Theatre - such a cool cinema! I miss it. I wish I could be there for the third Hobbit movie premiere!
11-19-2014, 04:28 AM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by twophase Quote
thank you very much can you perhaps estimate if the light of the flash will be enough for group shots?
You should be OK, if you are prepared to increase the ISO as necessary.

For normal sized images, you can go up to ISO 3200 or so easily.