Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-13-2014, 02:46 PM   #1

Camera settings with Vivitar 383

I have a K10D and have limped along for 7 years using only the flash on the camera body. I just splurged & got a Vivitar 383 flashgun but I can't find anything, anywhere, in any documentation, regarding what camera setting to use with it. I've tried it on the "green rectangle" setting, as well as the Av setting. I've gotten OK results with either setting but still wonder if I'm doing it right. I'm just a casual photographer, so I don't want the flash to do anything fancy. Can anyone help?

12-13-2014, 03:24 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
With flash its always an experiment thing. You can go with manual mode on camera...and set iso 100-400. Aperture try at 5.6 and shutter speed 1/30-1/80 depending on ambient light and the effects you're trying to achieve. I believe its a swivel and bounce flash unit. So better bounce it off a wall. Also set the Ev of the flash on camera to limit your flash power. Hope this helps.

Last edited by xanis; 12-13-2014 at 03:35 PM.
12-13-2014, 04:34 PM   #3
Pentaxian

If you have the model for Pentax TTL it should work in all the exposure modes when the flash is set to TTL mode.
12-14-2014, 10:29 AM   #4

Original Poster
From what I remember of using my old flash, (which looked almost identical to this current unit), I DID do a lot of experimentation. The camera was SUPPOSED to be automatic (Pentax ME Super), though I think I just used it as an aperture-priority camera that set the shutter based on where the user set the f-stop. Maybe that's what "automatic" meant, I can't remember now. I wasn't aware that this flash automatically followed what you set on the camera, no matter what settings you used. I mean, I knew the flash follows your settings on the camera, I just didn't know what settings to USE on the camera. Thanks for that info.