Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2015, 01:58 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
using flashlights paired with softbox

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Just curios, if anybody has ever used a flashlight with a softbox.
I always have trouble with using flash (I am still learning & experimenting).
I have used continuous fixed light (LED), which gives me more freedom (personal preference).
Now I want to use a Fenix TK15 paired with a Westcott Rapid Box 26" Octa Speedlite with Deflector Plate.
the Fenix TK15 has 3 different colour lights (red, green, white) with approx 400 lumens. I dont know how fast those lumens will degrade after prolonged use. Perhaps I can use gels to mix and match for more creative lighting?
Anyone with ideas/comments/suggestions?

03-25-2015, 02:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by debakarma Quote
I have used continuous fixed light (LED), which gives me more freedom (personal preference).
Now I want to use a Fenix TK15 paired with a Westcott Rapid Box 26" Octa Speedlite with Deflector Plate.
the Fenix TK15 has 3 different colour lights (red, green, white) with approx 400 lumens. I dont know how fast those lumens will degrade after prolonged use. Perhaps I can use gels to mix and match for more creative lighting?
I mean, it might work in the middle of the night with no ambient light, but that little things isn't going to fill a softbox with any amount of useful light.
03-25-2015, 02:20 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Ok, get it. Its not going to get 30K lumens (SB800 set at 125 or something similar). But what about a Fenix TK-35: with 1800 Lumens.
03-25-2015, 02:53 PM   #4
Veteran Member