Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2015, 05:35 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Affordable LED Ring Flash / Light for K-3

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I know this has probably been covered somewhere else, but I can't find any place on this forum that has more than an occasional mention of the new LED models on the market. I know there are dedicated ring flash units from Pentax and a few others, but these are well beyond my price range. I am just getting started in Macro and don't want to invest allot of money until I know what I am about. I am now using an M 50mm 1.7 on a macro focusing 2x extender or a Tamron 70 - 300 Macro focusing lens with a diopter filter. Please direct me to something less than $100 that will work but won't waste my time or money. If there is information collected somewhere, please point me to it.

Thanks,

Pentax Bob

03-26-2015, 05:55 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Some of the LED rings are good for close work, they're not as bright as a true flash, but the constant illumination allows you to meter well. they're not as bright as the big LED panels which mount on the hotshoe either. Those are the only products I'm familiar with, and they work well enough for a lot of work. They hybrid LED "flash" units might be even better but I haven't used one.

Here's one which can be mounted either way, and has multiple modes:
http://smile.amazon.com/YONGNUO-WJ-60-Macro-Photography-Continuous/dp/B00BIY...led+ring+light

Panels are really useful.
Amazon.com : Mcoplus 198 LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Camera : Camera & Photo
03-26-2015, 06:15 AM   #3