Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
05-04-2015, 10:01 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Fill flash technique

Is it common for an external flash to automatically switch from manual mode to P-TTL when shooting in AV mode? I was shooting an outdoor session and attempting to use my flash as a fill in AV mode, however as soon as I focused the shot (and the camera exposed), the flash automatically switches to PTTL mode. Is this a feature/bug of the flash or is this a user error in that manual flash always requires manual mode on the camera. My mindframe is that I'd like the camera to expose on my subject, and I'd like the flash only to flash at enough power to lighten the shadows on a face or to have the catch light show up in their eyes. Forgive me if I'm doing something stupid - I'm not new to my camera or photography but I am new to flash photography.

Equipment used:
K5II with latest firmware
FA 77
Sigma 610 Super

Extra information that may or may not be relevant:
Outdoor portrait shoot
Using flash both direct as a fill flash with the sun behind the subject (and using a 3 stop ND filter) and also with the flash set to 90 degrees, using the flash as a catch light.

05-04-2015, 11:32 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You had the flash in Manual mode and it changed to P-TTL on its own? That normally requires the pressing of a mode button repeatedly until you get into the mode you want.
05-04-2015, 11:38 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by enoeske Quote
You had the flash in Manual mode and it changed to P-TTL on its own? That normally requires the pressing of a mode button repeatedly until you get into the mode you want.