Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 12 Likes Search this Thread
11-02-2015, 12:32 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A good starter kit for on-location shooting

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Update: Make sure to read post #14 as well

I need some simple yet flexible gear for on-locations shooting.

The gear must be portale but also cheap ans I'm just getting into this.

I have experience using strobes, but not so much when it comes to buying some.

For now, I have a shoot coming up wich will take place ain an office environment. All walls and caeilings are white and the rooms med to small sizes. I'd like the ability to shape my light rather than having it bounding all over.

I'd also like to balance the light with ambience, so the strobe must be able to output low enough power (or I could get ND filters, but I'm ignoring that option for now - unless someone tells me that's a bad thing to do.

I suspect I'll do some shots at larger apertures, such as f2 but I'll also need to do few shots using smaller apertures - perhaps something like f4-5.6

I'm thinking a single strobe should be fine for now. What kind of gear should I be looking for?

It would be best if you could give me numbers/specs I should keep in mind rather than pointing towards specific strobe models, as there is no guarantee I'll find it here.

A soft/octa-box would be best? I'm thinking around 50cm as it will mostly be placed close by because of narrow spaces.

The kind of lighting I'm going for - not 100% settled yet but probably a mix between these two:

Last edited by Zafar Iqbal; 10-17-2016 at 06:55 PM.
11-02-2015, 01:39 PM   #2