Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
11-22-2015, 07:12 AM   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Question: I'm a wedding photographer and next year I want to better control the light especially indoor.... I don't know very much about studio light. Trying to learn and buy the right stuff. My idea is to get 3 or 4 speedlights and 1 or 2 strobes type Einstein (for very high ceilings) but I need a trigger system that can work with both strobe and speedights. I looked at the Yongnuo 560 stuff but I don't know if it can be associated with some YN trigger.... Would Cactus work for me @class A? I also need to use my Metz 52 on camera while having control of my speedlights and potentially strobe. Thank you all!,

11-22-2015, 08:01 AM   #17
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by nicoprod Quote
...I need a trigger system that can work with both strobe and speedights.
Most triggers will be able to trigger both speedlights and strobes, provided they have a syncport to connect to the strobe with a short cable.

I only know one speedlight-compatible trigger that is capable of also controlling the power levels of some Paul C. Buff strobes. That's the Radiopopper JrX/Jr2. The latter digital Jr2 version is quite similar to the Cactus V6 in its overall approach.

I looked at the Yongnuo 560 stuff but I don't know if it can be associated with some YN trigger.... Would Cactus work for me @class A?
The V6 would work as it has a syncport to connect to strobes (with a cheap audio cable). But remember that there won't be remote power control with strobes.

Some Yongnuo receivers like the RF-602 also have a syncport (sadly using a PC connector) but I don't know whether the YN560-TX would work with those when also controlling YN560-IV speedlights. IIRC, the YN560-TX has to be in a special (RF-603?) mode to work with the latter and hence may not be able to fire RF-602s at the same time.