Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-16-2015, 01:34 AM   #1

Some questions about wireless flash for af360fgzii

I am using pentax k5ii and af360FBZII flash

I am studying off camera flash and I noticed that if I use my camera as a controller, the build in flash will still be fired to trigger that AF360II flash. Is there a way to void the build-in flash fires by changing the setting?
Also, I heard pentax k3ii has no build in flash, how does this model triggers the wireless flash?

Thanks!

Hailei.

12-16-2015, 01:57 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Yeah, you can change the menu item to make the onboard flash attempt to be a controller only.

In practice, the flash decays rather than stops suddenly, so some residual light is detectable if ambient levels are low.

The new K3ii will require you to purchase the AFG200 or similar as an optical trigger.

At this point, you might as well look at a cheap radio kit..
12-16-2015, 05:20 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In my testing the controller mode significantly reduced light output and was not noticed in many settings. ISO, background and subject all matter. In general I found it more than acceptable most of the time.

However cheap radio triggers will eliminate the issue.
12-16-2015, 05:48 AM   #4
Pentaxian

No you can't prevent the flash from firing but you can as mentioned set the on board to controller and use a Nikon SG 31R panel with it to eliminate any residue onboard flash lighting from affecting the exposure.
Nikon SG-3IR IR Panel for Built-In Flash 4905 B&H Photo Video

Last edited by Oldbayrunner; 12-16-2015 at 05:53 AM.
12-16-2015, 04:53 PM   #5
Veteran Member