Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-16-2016, 10:24 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Looking for my first real flash

I am looking for a cheap flash to use with my K-50. I'm not sure if this is realistic considering the features I want, but I don't want to spend more than $50. I already have the AF200FG but I want something that will tilt and swivel and that recharges faster.

I think I want p-ttl, but I am so dreadfully confused about the whole p-ttl vs ttl thing that I can't trust myself. As I understand it, TTL/ DOES work with my camera but only when my camera is in manual mode, or is it when the flash is in manual mode? I've never used one before so I don't now what modes they have.

I want one that swivels and tilts.

I'd like one with a decent refresh rate.

Am I out of my mind or is there something out there?

01-16-2016, 12:24 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The least expensive flash that fits your description is made by Vivitar for $70:
Vivitar DF-293 TTL AF Flash for Pentax Cameras VIVDF293P B&H

If this is for occasional use, and not for demanding conditions, then it's probably good enough. Decades ago, Vivitar and Sunpak were in my budget and so I always used them. The recycle time with this unit is about 7 seconds with alkaline AAs. Usually if you use rechargeable batteries, the flash will recycle faster, but you'll get less discharges, so you will want backups.

However, I've been let down by 'cheap' flash units enough, that now when I am depending on the flash, I've saved up for better units. The least expensive one I'd recommend is this Metz for $220: Metz mecablitz 44 AF-1 digital Flash for Pentax MZ 44317PS B&H

Metz has made professional-grade flash units since the beginning of time, and this one recycles in a max of 4 seconds (full discharge, max power, alkalines).
Metz mecablitz 44 AF-1 digital Flash for Pentax MZ 44317PS B&H