Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-03-2008, 11:05 AM   #1

Can I fire the Pentax AF-360 FGZ wirelessly without triggering on-camera flash?

My first post!

I'm pretty new to DSLR photography (bought my K10D 3 months ago) and I just bought a Pentax AF-360 FGZ yesterday and I'm wondering if it's possible to fire the Pentax AF-360 FGZ wirelessly without triggering on-camera flash? I tried looking through the included information but it was pretty confusing since I don't know what a lot of it means...

I'd like to build a DIY flexible flash bracket and use the AF-360 as a fill flash when I'm shooting people in bright light, but I don't want the on-camera flash to fire and muck things up.

Do I need to buy a hot shoe cord? Or some sort of transmitter? Or will the flash be able to do this by itself?

Here's the flash bracket(s) I'd like to build:
Quiglag.com DIY Flexible Flash Bracket.

THANKS!

07-03-2008, 11:11 AM   #2
and
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You need to go to the custom settings of your k10d and set your on board flash to not fire when in wireless mode by alteing the Flash in Wireless Mode setting.

the on board flash still has to fire to trigger the external flashes, but this happens before the picture is taken and does not affect the exposure.
07-03-2008, 12:10 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks so much, and!
I can't wait to try it out this weekend.

I'm also planning on making the DIY Beauty Dish. Lots of fun projects to try now that I have the flash.

Flickr: Discussing DIY Beauty Dish - Yeah, another one! in Strobist.com
07-03-2008, 07:47 PM   #4

Original Poster
Now that I'm at home testing it I don't seem to be able to get the AF-360 to fire without also firing the on-camera flash.