Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2007, 07:35 AM   #1

P-TTL pre-flash question - is it visible?

I bought a K100D in mid-December, and have recently purchased an AF360 FGZ flash to use with it. I'm new to P-TTL, and want to be certain everything is operating as it should. Is the pre-flash (when using either the built-in flash or the AF360) so fast it's not visible, or should I be able to notice it (two distinctive flashes)? I'm sure this has been asked before, but I could not find something about this. I'm assuming it's so fast I can't see it, otherwise there would be a difference in shutter lag between shooting with flash off and flash on.

02-13-2007, 07:42 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You might see it. Especially if you have a non-P-TTL flash to compare. You might also see it in the viewfinder under the right circumstances-a dark subject. It can be a bit disconcerting. There is a shutter lag-it's small. It's not two distinct flashes-more like a hesitation or a catch then full blast, or two nearly simultaneous pops. Sometimes your subject will see it, sometimes not. Dogs do after three or four pops and manage to get their eyes shut just as the shutter opens.
02-13-2007, 08:09 AM   #3
Ed in GA

I have a hard time distinguishing the pre-flash from the flash. I have both the 360 and 540 and I can't tell.
02-13-2007, 12:04 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by BobG Quote