Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-13-2016, 01:53 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Looking for a solid foundation for flashes on my K-1

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm new to flashes, but I've found that lowering my shutter speed, getting a faster aperture, and raising my iso can only get me so far.

Since I'm new, I was thinking that p-ttl can help me get started, I generally fall into the buy once, cry once camp when it can be helped (meaning I want a flash I can keep for the long-haul) and I found some deals on on the af-540fgz v1 online. ~200 to 230

I just wanted to double check and make sure that the 540 v1 worked well with the k-1. I've seen one flash review on this forum which mentioned that it was compatible, but I like to double check facts before spending over 50 dollars.

If there are any other flashes in that price range one could recommend with similar features and/or performance, I'd be all ears.

07-13-2016, 02:05 AM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi brokeh.... I can't help with the 540 v1 info, but I would recommend considering the Metz Mecablitz 52 AF-1 as one possible alternative. I have two of these - one for Pentax, the other for Sony. Having only started getting into using flash fairly recently, I've found it to be an excellent unit both for TTL auto and manual use. It's very solidly built, powerful and - once you get used to the slightly unusual LCD user interface - simple to operate. Here in the UK, I paid £149 for my Pentax-compatible unit, but I think (rather unusually) they're a little more expensive in the US...
07-13-2016, 02:08 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums