Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-02-2016, 08:24 PM   #1

645z, Cactus V62, Phottix Indra500 and a lot of missing hair!

Hello,

I'm new to the 645Z having recently purchased a kit from a guy. But I'm running into a snag, HSS. I use the Indra500 Strobe a lot and I'm having trouble getting the HSS to work with the Cactus V6ii trigger and receiver. I've got the Cactus connected to the Zed nd then a receiver connected to the Indra by cable. The cactus is basically working as a dummy tigger (which is fine since I do mostly manual stuff anyway. and I'm trying to get the HSS to work. I can take my shutter speed over 1/125 (had to figure that out) but now, when I hit 1/160 it's completely black...unless I take my ISO up to at least 3200.

No matter what I put my strobe power to, I still have to ups my ISO. Is there something I missing here?

I thank you in advance

11-02-2016, 09:52 PM   #2

Original Poster
Quick note, when I mess with Power sync, and I turn it all the way up to 32, I get half a picture with the bottom half being black...sync is messed up and I don't know why
11-02-2016, 10:29 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I'm wondering, just floating ideas, this Indra500 seems to be advertised as a TTL solution for Canon, Nikon and Sony .... does its HSS capability depend on the TTL integration with one of those systems? Possibly the simple triggering approach you are using is not able to activate its HSS syncing ?

The product specifications have a qualification listed for HSS and 2nd Curtain syncs .... ' *On compatible cameras, when used with the Phottix Odin or Mitros+ systems'..... Neither your Pentax camera nor the Cactus trigger meet this criteria.
11-02-2016, 10:59 PM   #4

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by MDR Foto Quote
Hello,