Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-16-2016, 01:02 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Will this power pack help with recycle time for my 540 flash?

I have the old style 540, so it should have an input for high voltage battery pack. I am looking for faster recycle time. I used ISO 1600 to achieve faster recycle, but would like to lower it. I am not a pro, but infrequently shoot family events and I hate having to wait for the flash to recycle.

Will this combo work? Both offered through Amazon. Godox 960 and Quantum CN3 cable. The battery pack has Lithiom ion batteries so doesn't have memory and can be partially charged.

Amazon.com : Godox Propac 4500mAh PB960 Flash Power Battery Pack Kit with Dual Output for Godox AD360 AD180 Flash Canon 580EX II, 580EX, 550EX, Nikon SB-900 SB-800 SB-80DX, SONY HVL-F58AM HVL-F43AM, Metz Flash, includes:(1)Orange PB960 Battery Kit :

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PRW8SE6/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&p...=AYD2N2785NNMV

This past thread helped me. Just want to confirm it will speed up recycle time. Also, any cheaper equally good alternatives?

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/125-flashes-lighting-studio/306467-batter...x-flashes.html

Thanks!

---------- Post added 11-16-2016 at 01:06 PM ----------

How about this one? It's only $40

FB-4

11-16-2016, 04:18 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

The FB-4 might help. The orange power pack should not be compatible. Not sure if there is a way to adapt it safely. The best option is to use multiple flashes and have each have to put out less power. A second flash would help a lot but it becomes bulky to lug around. If you are going to be in the same area set one on a tripod in bounce mode and have the other on camera ...

In theory the PTTL will handle exposure from two flashes...
11-16-2016, 11:52 PM   #3
Veteran Member