Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-03-2016, 10:55 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Flash buying advice

I am considering purchasing a flash, I am totally a noob to using it.
Most probably I will be buying yongnuo 560 IV or II , bases on reviews. I want to not spend a lot for the flash.

1. Will a single flash unit be enough or will it be good to have 2-3 units. I was thinking maybe 1 560IV and 2 560II setup.
2. Is 560 IV better then 560 II ?
3.I would like to be able to trigger the flash firing remotely , when I press shutter to take photo...is that possible ?
I am really a noob at flash usage.

12-03-2016, 11:15 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Honestly, for a first and only flash, I would recommend that you look at a P-TTL one. Much more practical, versatile, and easier to use. And you can always use a P-TTL flash in manual mode if need be, but you can't do the reverse. Once you have a P-TTL flash, it's always possible to complement with manual ones afterward if you fill the need.
12-03-2016, 11:21 AM   #3

Original Poster
i thought of Manual flashes as i assumed they would be cheaper and useful to learn flash usage. Is that a wrong assumption ?
I will be using this flash on a K-500, with no plans to upgrade the body till next 2-3 years.
12-03-2016, 11:46 AM   #4
Veteran Member

If you are using the for off camera flash go with a manual flash. No need to spend the amount of money on one flash when you can have 2-3 flashes plus trigger for the same amount of money.

Go with the Youngnuo 560 IV, it has built in transceiver where with the 560II you'll have to buy receivers.
Then get yourself a TX 560 so you can fire them off camera.
Yongnuo YN560-TX Manual Flash Controller for Canon YN-560-TXC

12-03-2016, 12:40 PM   #5
Banned

There are a lot of cheap flashes in the market, all Manual.

Get a cheap Manual flash and get painful to use that. you then quit.

THAT IS NOT CHEAP.