Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-07-2017, 08:18 AM   #1

Suggestions for a flash for weddings and indoor events

Hello everyone! I am a novice photographer with a K-3. I have mainly shot outdoors and some indoors with decent/good lighting. I have been offered the opportunity to shoot a wedding and a reception, and am thinking it's time to invest in a decent flash. I thought I might need something with TTL, but after a bit of research don't think that is necessarily the case. I have no experience with anything other than a pop-up flash, so this is uncharted territory. I am willing to buy used and to learn, but have a budget of under $200. I do not anticipate utilizing the flash off the camera.

Thanks in advance!

06-07-2017, 08:49 AM   #2
Veteran Member

First, a wedding isn't really the place nor time to learn how to use a flash. It really takes a lot of practice to consistenly get good and predictable results. If you're not sure about what you,re doing, more harm than good can be done.

That said, no matter the brand or model, be sure to get a TTL flash with a swivel head. After that, read everything you can about on camera bounce flash technique (NeilVN's Tangents blog is a really good start). Finally, practice until you feel comfortable with the technique and consistently get the results you want...
06-07-2017, 08:59 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by CarlJF Quote
First, a wedding isn't really the place nor time to learn how to use a flash. It really takes a lot of practice to consistenly get good and predictable results. If you're not sure about what you,re doing, more harm than good can be done.