Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
07-07-2017, 04:04 PM   #1

Off-camera flash

Hi-
I own the K-1 and K3ii and have purchased the Quantum T5d-R flash. I am wanting to go wireless and need an adapter. Is the Quantum FW57 wireless TTL adapter for FreeXwire compatible with the K1 and K3ii? What I've researched is that it's only compatible with select Pentax cameras.

Thanks!

07-07-2017, 04:10 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am not familiar with this flash or adapter. However a quick look at the listing on B&H web site shows that the Pentax cameras listed are all older TTL cameras. Anything new, since maybe the K100D?? will use P-TTL and from that I would suppose what you bought would not be compatible. But I am not a flash expert so perhaps someone else will chime in. Just keep in mind that gear made for 'TTL' does not work with gear made for 'P-TTL'.

Was there a particular reason you purchased this flash gun and system?
07-07-2017, 04:30 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
I am not familiar with this flash or adapter. However a quick look at the listing on B&H web site shows that the Pentax cameras listed are all older TTL cameras. Anything new, since maybe the K100D?? will use P-TTL and from that I would suppose what you bought would not be compatible. But I am not a flash expert so perhaps someone else will chime in. Just keep in mind that gear made for 'TTL' does not work with gear made for 'P-TTL'.

Was there a particular reason you purchased this flash gun and system?