Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-13-2017, 03:42 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Metz film era flash as a slave

I am a noob with external flashes. I have an old Metz 44 AF-3 film era flash that works great. Is it possible to set it up as a slave to fire off of the on camera or camera mounted flash? If it is possible, what is needed and what are some suggestions about making this happen? Granddaughter is coming in 10 days!

Your collective wisdom and knowledge is appreciated!

12-13-2017, 04:01 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not familiar with that unit. There are potentially ways to do this but I'm not sure what capabilities that flash has. If that flash has an optical trigger mode you want to look for the mode that ignores pre-flash. If it doesn't then a simple optical trigger of the type that ignores the preflash will work. However a simpler solution is to get some wireless triggers that use radio signals. The Cactus v6 or Yongnou Triggers are an option. There are various price points and costs to these approaches. If manual flash control from the camera is a path you might like then look at Cactus v6. If simple set at the flash and fire is what you want the Yougnuo stuff is very inexpensive.

Also these triggers tend to work as flash trigger isolation keeping high sync voltages from hurting your cameras - but your mileage may vary.
12-13-2017, 04:18 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks so much! The modes are TTL,M, Mlo (fires at 1/8 of full output), and SB (spot beam). there is also the ability to zoom the flash from 28 to 105. I had hoped to be able to set it up as a second unit that would fire from optically or radio another on camera flash or the on camera flash of a 5ii. does this change your ideas or suggestions? upon rereading my post and am not sure I made that clear. Thanks!
12-13-2017, 05:55 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter