Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2018, 10:39 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Newbie problem with Yongnuo YN585EX

Hi all - I'm new to using flash lighting having done most of my photograpy outdoors but I'm trying to learn the ropes of using speedlights and studio lights and recently bought a YN585EX from Amazon.

I've coupled this with a Neewer digital radio speedlite trigger kit and I'm sure I got it all working straight out of the box, but subsequently I've played around with the settings on the speedlite and now I can't get it to work the way it was, and I'm just going round and circles with the manual.

As I say I'm sure it was working wirelessly using the radio trigger but I spent some time messing around getting it to activate as a slave triggered by the on-camera flash, but I want to go back to using the radio trigger. I've reset the unti by holding down Mode and Sync but it hasn't worked I'm fairly sure that the radio trigger is working as when I press the shutter or the button on top of the transmitted, the light on the base of the receiver flashes so the message is definitely getting across to the receiver.

Can anyone point me in the right direction of what mode I need to be in? (NB for what its worth I'm using it with a K70D and K5D)

Thanks in advance.

01-17-2018, 11:11 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

It's most likely to need to be in basic Manual mode for the radio triggers. Make sure any Optical Slave modes are not activated. So turn off any "Wireless" or "Slave modes when using the triggers. Also check that the triggers are on the same channel.

Also make sure you don't go past the max sync speed, 1/180th sec when using the triggers.
01-17-2018, 11:32 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for the quick reply - I've checked all those things as best I can and I think the problem must be between the radio receiver and the flash unit.

Here's my logic... as I say I'm a newbie to this so I may be wrong...